A Father’s Day Brunch

Father’s Day weekend turned out to be a busy weekend for us, Saturday we spent the day celebrating the hubby’s first Father’s Day and that night we headed out to celebrate my good friend’s surprise 30th birthday! Sunday the hubby was working again, while me and the little miss had big plans to head out to my Dad and Stepmom’s for a Father’s Day brunch. My very talented Stepmom loves to host parties and is very good at it! So I had an idea that she would put on quite a spread (she’s an amazing cook and baker) and would have a nice tablescape set up for the afternoon. I had NO idea that she had planned such a beautiful party to celebrate all the men in our lives. She not only had planned the day for my Dad, my sister’s husband and my hubby, but had also invited my Stepdad and my Grandpa (my stepdad’s dad) out for the day as well! I thought that was very thoughtful. Our cousin (sister) and sweet Aunt even joined us for the day, it’s always great to see them and spend time together!

My Dad and Stepmom have a beautifully decorated log cabin that sits atop a hill overlooking their own commercially grown organic blueberries, cherries and apples. They have a gorgeous view and it’s a wonderful place to spend some time with family, reflecting on all of life’s blessings!
Char's 1 Year Old! 182
When we showed up she had tables set up out on the grass that was complete with large blue umbrella’s and a table setting that spoke to summer, that should be right around the corner. There were lots of fun bright colors throughout! She even got a mini picnic table for the kiddos with its own striped umbrella with fun colors for summer. So cute!
Char's 1 Year Old! 179

Char's 1 Year Old! 181
The food was delicious, we had salmon with a homemade mango fruit composte salsa, bbq chicken, potato salad, buttermilk biscuits, and the list goes on and on of the delicious homemade treats she created. We even got to sample some of her jams from her new line of specialty spreads, she’s about to launch a second line of speciality spreads under the brand Lulu’s Big Blue Barn. If you haven’t had the opportunity to check out her spreads, apple butter, and pie fillers you are definitely missing out on all of these yummy organic treats! Check out all of her amazing treats at www.middletonorganics.com. My personal favorites are the apple butter (I like to use it for a chicken stuffed apple recipe I’ll feature soon) and the ‘Apples Galore and More Fruit Filling’, it is amazing on ice cream. All of her spreads are delicious and you would not be disappointed with any of them!
26-m
It turned out to be a truly wonderful afternoon spent visiting with family and chasing after our little ones! Every day is truly a blessing and it’s nice to get family together to remind ourselves just how blessed we are!

Cheers!

Mel

2 thoughts on “A Father’s Day Brunch

  1. Oh Dear Daughter!
    You continue to AMAZE me with your gracious and kind words as well as your ability to write so genuinely and beautifully. You are indeed a gifted woman and such a remarkable blessing and friend. I love you so and am so wonderfully proud of you.
    Thank you for being you!
    Love,
    Lori xoxoxo

Leave a comment